Friday, November 6, 2009

Pushcart Prize Nominations: Barn Owl Review #2

Many congratulations to the following poems (and their poets) for being nominated by Barn Owl Review for the Pushcart Prize. The editors salute you, and will be keeping their fingers crossed for you.

“Love Poem for Lamoni, Iowa” by Deborah Ager

“Clouds” by Jason Bredle

“Who But I, O Reckless Death” by David Dodd Lee

“Hurricane Party” by Alison Pelegrin

“The Violin Thief…” by Lee Ann Roripaugh

“Human Error” by Mathias Svalina

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Contributor Update: BOR #3 All Poetry Issue

This year we received a total of 767 poetry submissions for the Barn Owl Review all poetry issue. We have now stopped accepting submissions, but will continue reading those we received by (or on) November 1st. Thanks to all who submitted, and thank you for your patience if you're waiting to hear back from us. We obviously experienced quite a deluge.

An update of BOR#3 contributors, as of 11/3/09:

Michele Battiste * Adam Clay * Weston Cutter * Oliver de la Paz * Heather Derr-Smith * Jehanne Dubrow * Justin Evans * Suzanne Frischkorn * Bernadette Geyer * Rebecca Rolland Givens * Peter Joseph Gloviczki * Susan Grimm * Matthew Guenette * Carol Guess * Lee Gulyas * Leslie Harrison * Matthew Hittinger * Stephanie Kartalopoulos * Anna Leahy * David Dodd Lee * Gary Leising * Dawn Lonsinger * John Loughlin * Dora Malech * Gary McDowell * Nathain McClain * Marc McKee * Erika Meitner * Michael Meyerhofer * John Minczeski * Keith Montesano * Trey Moody * Carrie Oeding * Christina Olson * Sarah Perrier * F. Daniel Rzicznek * Sarah Sloat * Alison Stine * Angela Vogel * J. Michael Wahlgren * Ruth Williams * Michael Young

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Contributor Update: BOR #3 All Poetry Issue

We're very excited to have accepted poems by the following folks, and we're still hip-deep in our reading for the third issue. Thanks for your patience, if you're waiting to hear back from us. We will be accepting submissions of poetry until 11:59 am on October 31st.

Barn Owl Review #3 Contributors as of 9/23/09

Michele Battiste * Adam Clay * Weston Cutter * Heather Derr-Smith * Suzanne Frischkorn * Bernadette Geyer * Rebecca Rolland Givens * Peter Joseph Gloviczki * Susan Grimm * Matthew Guenette * Carol Guess * Lee Gulyas * Leslie Harrison * Matthew Hittinger * Stephanie Kartalopoulos * Gary Leising * Dawn Lonsinger * John Loughlin * Dora Malech * Nathain McClain * Marc McKee * Michael Meyerhofer * Keith Montesano * Trey Moody * Christina Olson * F. Daniel Rzicznek * Sarah Sloat * Alison Stine * Angela Vogel * J. Michael Wahlgren * Ruth Williams * Michael Young

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Barn Owl Review #3: All-Poetry Issue

After much deliberation, we've decided to make Barn Owl Review #3 an all-poetry issue. Submissions begin Monday. Please check out our revised guidelines below.

BOR's open reading period will resume 1 June 2009.

Barn Owl Review 3 Call for Submissions:

Barn Owl Review welcomes submissions for its third volume, which will be an all-poetry issue. We are a handsomely designed print journal looking for work that takes risks while still connecting with readers. We aim to publish the highest quality poetry from both emerging and established writers. Barn Owl Review 3 will be released in April 2010 at the AWP bookfair in Denver. Though Barn Owl Review is a print journal, submissions are only taken electronically. Please follow our guidelines carefully.

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES:
Submit your manuscript as an attachment formatted for MS Word or .rtf with ‘Poetry Submission: NAME’ as an email subject line (for example, 'Poetry Submission: Emily Dickinson'). Include contact information in the attachment. See full guidelines link for email address.

A cover letter with contact information is required, and should be pasted into your email message and addressed to the editors. Please list your attachment's name in the body of your cover letter. We are unable to open attachments that are not specified as such.

Simultaneous submissions are welcome with immediate notification of acceptance elsewhere. No previously published work, please. Barn Owl Review will provide pre-publication galleys of accepted work. Please note that we only accept one submission per author per genre during our reading period.

POETRY: Submit 3-5 poems (in a single attachment) to the attention of the poetry editors. Barn Owl Review favors no particular poetic style or school; however, we look for innovation and risk-taking in the poems that we publish. We are interested in poems with a strong narrative or lyric presence by poets who understand the energy of the line, poems that “make it new” in a way that’s truly new. Barn Owl Review prides itself on being eclectic and strives to publish new writers alongside established ones. Submissions of inspirational/greeting card verse are not for us, but otherwise we are quite open to subject and style. Dazzle us. Curl our toes. But most of all, surprise us.