Friday, December 3, 2010

Barn Owl Review Pushcart Nominations, 2010

Dear World,

We're super happy to announce the names (and poem names!) of the pieces we've nominated for the Pushcart this year. As always, it's so hard deliberating over this, since every poem in the magazine is our favorite. So this year we went semi-scientific and used reader input along with our own brainstorming.

Many congrats to those nominated, and fingers crossed for you.

Love,

Barn Owl Review

~*~ ~*~ ~*~ ~*~

Barn Owl Review Pushcart Nominations, 2010

Elizabeth J. Colen, “From Love Field”

Jehanne Dubrow, “Wiretap”

Peter Joseph Gloviczki, “For My Cerebral Palsy at the London School of Economics”

Lee Gulyas, “Lightning Hits Preacher after Call to God”

Dora Malech, “The Station”

Erika Meitner, “In Praise of Heat”

Thursday, December 2, 2010

New book review @ BOR online.

We BOR editors love Erika Meitner, so we asked someone extra awesome to review her new book, Ideal Cities. You can check the review out here.

And now that mama has learned herself some Dreamweaver, we'll be having even more reviews up on the website very soon.

Oh, and Pushcart nominations released tomorrow, too.

Booya!

Friday, November 19, 2010

BOR 4 Contributor Update Update

We received 667 submissions for BOR 4 this year, and we are still catching up with our reading. Here's a roster-in-progress of the poets you will see in the issue.

BOR 4 Contributor List as of 11/19/10.

Jenna Cardinale * Brittany Cavallaro * Elizabeth J. Colen * Juliet Cook * Jaydn DeWald * Lorraine Doran * Carolina Ebeid * John Gallaher * Peter Joseph Gloviczki * Brent Goodman * Matthew Guenette * Carol Guess * Charles Jensen * Stephanie Kartalopoulos * Steve Kistulentz * David Dodd Lee * Rebecca Loudon * Amit Majmudar * Adrian Matejka * Louise Mathias * Shane McCrae * Robert Miltner * John Minczeski * Carrie Oeding * Alison Pelegrin * Dan Pinkerton * Nate Pritts * Liz Robbins * C.J. Sage * Carmen Gimenez Smith * Catherine Wing * Cori A. Winrock

BOR will be sharing a table with The University of Akron Press at AWP, so please swing by A11 for your one-stop poetry hotspot.

We'll have BOR 4, of course, plus a variety of delicious books by Akron Series in Poetry writers, including the debut of Nothing Fatal by Sarah Perrier, Orphan, Indiana by David Dodd Lee, and 2010 Akron Poetry Prize winner Le Spleen de Poughkeepsie by Joshua Harmon.

We will also be selling (and handing out a free mini-galley for) The Monkey and the Wrench: Essays into Contemporary Poetics, co-edited by Mary Biddinger and John Gallaher. This book contains some rather riveting essays on issues in contemporary poetics, including an exploration of the litany in contemporary poetry, a discussion of poetic closure, and a symposium piece on hybrid aesthetics. Don't miss it!

BOR editors will be staffing the table along with the amazing Amy Freels, who designs the UA Press books and is responsible for some of the most breathtaking book covers in recent memory.

Can you tell that we're just a little bit excited?

Friday, September 3, 2010

BOR 4 Contributor Update

We've been open for submissions since June 1st, and have received over 460 subs so far. Good golly! There's still time to submit (until November 1st), so don't delay if you're thinking about sending us work for Barn Owl Review 4.

We have a ton of stuff still under consideration, so do not panic if you haven't heard from us yet, but here's a list of authors you'll be seeing in the next issue, for sure.

BOR 4 Contributor List as of 9/3/10

Jenna Cardinale * Brittany Cavallaro * Juliet Cook * Jaydn DeWald * Lorraine Doran * Carolina Ebeid * Peter Joseph Gloviczki * Stephanie Kartalopoulos * Steve Kistulentz * David Dodd Lee * Louise Mathias * Shane McCrae * Carrie Oeding * Nate Pritts * Liz Robbins * Carmen Gimenez Smith

Check back and watch this list grow!

Thursday, August 26, 2010

More Verse Daily + Meitnermania

"Worse than the Bite" by Rebecca Givens Rolland is on Verse Daily today, the third BOR 3 poem to appear up there. Super awesome!

We are also affectionately cradling Ideal Cities by Erika Meitner, which is our new favorite book in the universe. If we were stranded on a desert island and could choose only one book to eat, it would be this one. So delicious.

Meitnermania is hitting Akron pretty hardcore, and she'll be visiting UA for a craft talk with a certain BOR editor in early October. Details forthcoming, and rumor has it they'll be discussing poetry taboos, and reading their own poems, too. You won't want to miss it.

Monday, August 23, 2010

Monday, May 31, 2010

How to submit to BOR

Dear Poets,

Somehow the email address on our submissions page has gone missing (at least until tomorrow morning, when I have access to a computer with dreamweaver and can fix it). If you'd like to submit your work to BOR (after midnight tonight), send to: submit at barnowlreview dot com. (In)complete guidelines here.

Thank you, and apologies for the mystery.

Love,

The Editors.

Update: Everything is fixed. Carry on.

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Friday, May 14, 2010

Poets and their owls.

The lovely Amy Bracken Sparks, Poetry Editor for BOR. And, of course, her owl.

Monday, May 3, 2010

Poets and their owls.

BOR 3 contributor J. Michael Wahlgren poses with his owl. Check out his poem "Underwater Confession" in our new issue.

Sunday, May 2, 2010

Poets and their owls.

The amazing Susan Grimm has two owls, and she's also joining our editorial staff. What could be better?

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Poets and their owls.

Here's John Minczeski posing with BOR #3 during his visit to Akron. We'd love to post more pictures of our contributors and their owls. Email a pic to Mary, and we will put it on the blog to share the joy of the new issue.

We start taking submissions for BOR #4 on June first. Hooray!

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Thank you, Denver.

Thanks so much to all who stopped by the BOR table at AWP. We sold out of the issues we brought, but have plenty more here at home. Contributor copies and orders will be going out within the next 1-2 weeks. I'm sure we'll share a shot of our envelope-stuffing extravaganza.

The BOR website is undergoing some changes (still in progress), with new photos by yours truly. We also hope to have some new book reviews up soon.

Submissions for BOR 4 begin June 1st. Duotrope has our new cover up, and everything. It's a happy day in owlville, and it wouldn't be the same without you. Lots of love from sunny Akron!

Sunday, April 4, 2010

We're having a party. You should come.

AWP Denver
Friday, April 9th
6:30PM-8:30PM

Mary Biddinger & Michael Dumanis host a Cleveland State University Poetry Center & University of Akron Press Poetry Reading


Location: Paris on the Platte Cafe & Bar
Cost: Free admission, Cash Bar, Appetizers gratis

Please join us for readings by Allison Benis White, John Bradley, Ashley Capps, Oliver de la Paz, Heather Derr-Smith, David Dodd Lee, Elyse Fenton, John Gallaher, Beckian Fritz Goldberg, Helena Mesa, Mathias Svalina, & Allison Titus. Come by table A22 to pick up your invitation and map.

Get you some.

Barn Owl Review 3 is here, and it's even hotter than we ever imagined. You can order your own copy here. We take paypal, and good old fashioned checks.

Submissions begin June 1st for BOR 4, so check out the current issue and see what we like (though we are rather eclectic, all things considered).

If you're at AWP this week, stop by table K8 and say hello to Mary B. and Jay R. We can't wait to show off this gorgeous new issue.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Galley time.

BOR#3 contributors, please check your inboxes. Galleys have been sent out (give me a holler if you didn't receive an email from me this morning). And yes, the design is way different this time. I think you're going to like it.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Fly, little owl.

In case you can't read the fine print, that says Barn Owl Review.

Just finished final edits, and ready to send the manuscript to our designer. Contributors will be getting galleys very soon (via our gmail address, so don't be shocked).

On cloud nine right now.

Friday, February 19, 2010

BOR#3 Passes Crucial Test

For Immediate Release: The master document of Barn Owl Review #3 has now officially been curled up with in the city of Akron, OH. Sources are reporting that the issue is now fully compiled, and when read by a reclining young lady, the results were most pleasing. Unconfirmed testimonies mention that there are even some unexpected, mind-blowing, and mildly amusing connections between poem titles.

Said one unnamed bystander: "This issue is kinda hot."

Pre-order a copy here and receive a free BOR #2, while supplies last. Make sure Paypal has your shipping address. We've been getting a lot of orders without addresses, in which case we just email you and nag for one.

You can also send a check for $14 payable to BARN OWL REVIEW, INC to the address here, along with your shipping details and email address so I can confirm your purchase.

Contributors: we'll be sending galleys your way soon. We have a gmail account now. Yes, we are that cool.

Saturday, February 6, 2010

Saturday afternoon live from Owl Headquarters

She begins putting it all together.

Note: that is snow, not a nuclear apocalypse, providing the blinding light through the window.

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Introducing Barn Owl Review #3

Dear Readers, here's the lineup of poets featured in BOR #3. It is such a pleasure to share this list, but also bittersweet, because we wish we could've accepted so many more poems. The issue is going to be amazing, and this time around it will be completely edited and assembled by MB and JR, and designed by the spectacular Amy Freels. Thanks so much to all who submitted. I'm hoping to document our process of assembling the issue, and will post some pictures on this blog as we roll up our sleeves and get to work.

BARN OWL REVIEW #3

Brent Armendinger * Michele Battiste * Brian Brodeur * Adam Clay * Elizabeth Colen * Weston Cutter * Oliver de la Paz * Heather Derr-Smith * Jehanne Dubrow * Justin Evans * Noah Falck * Rebecca Morgan Frank * Suzanne Frischkorn * Bernadette Geyer * Rebecca Givens Rolland * Peter Joseph Gloviczki * Susan Grimm * Matthew Guenette * Carol Guess * Lee Gulyas * Leslie Harrison * Matthew Hittinger * Kimberly Johnson * Stephanie Kartalopoulos * Anna Leahy * David Dodd Lee * Gary Leising * dawn lonsinger * John Loughlin * Dora Malech * Nathan McClain * Gary McDowell * Marc McKee * Erika Meitner * Michael Meyerhofer * John Minczeski * Keith Montesano * Trey Moody * Carrie Oeding * Christina Olson * Alison Pelegrin * Sarah Perrier * F. Daniel Rzicznek * Rob Schlegel * Sarah Sloat * Alison Stine * Angela Vogel * J. Michael Wahlgren * Ruth Williams * Michael Young