Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Contributor Update + AWP Reading Extravaganza


Barn Owl Review #5 will make its grand debut at AWP Chicago. Here's a list-in-progress of the issue's contributors. We're so excited (and open until 11/1/11, in case you'd still like to send work our way).

Anne Barngrover * Erica Bernheim * Jason Bredle * Lisa Fay Coutley * Kristina Marie Darling * Sarah Freligh * John Gallaher * Kimberly Grey * Matthew Guenette * Matt Hart * Rebecca Hazelton * Stephanie Kartalopoulos * Steve Kistulentz * David Dodd Lee * Kyle McCord * Gary McDowell * John Minczeski * Daniela Olszewska * Danielle Pafunda * Julie Platt * Ben Purkert * Emily Rosko * Zach Savich * Steven D. Schroeder * Sarah Sloat * Elena Tomorowitz * Joshua Ware * * * and featuring a folio of sonnets by Sandra Simonds * * *

Monday, October 3, 2011

Barn Owl Review + Diode AWP Offsite Reading Lineup

Dear Everyone, please add this amazing event to your AWP 2012 Chicago dance cards. Barn Owl Review and Diode are both celebrating fifth birthdays this year, and we'd love to have you join us for one heck of a party. Drinks and treats and the finest poetry imaginable.

Barn Owl Review & Diode Offsite Poetry Reading
Friday, March 2nd, 7:00 pm
Fine Arts Building, Curtiss Hall
410 South Michigan Avenue (mere steps from the conference hotel!)
Chicago, IL, USA

Readers:

Jason Bredle * Traci Brimhall * Peter Campion * John Gallaher * Brent Goodman * Matthew Guenette * Rebecca Hazelton * Sandy Longhorn * Erika Meitner * Aimee Nezhukumatathil * Alison Pelegrin * G.C. Waldrep

It's our first offsite ever, and we're super honored to be teaming up with Diode. Hope to see you there (albeit in a few months). We're so excited to celebrate these poets and their poems.

Monday, September 26, 2011

Long Overdue Updates

-Barn Owl Review is in the process of finishing an assemblage of poets for AWP 2012. In the near future, be on the lookout for time, location, and a list of featured readers.

-We here at BOR are almost down to one month remaining in our open submissions period. That means you're running out of time to send us your poems to be considered for our 5th issue.

-Friend of BOR, The Big Big Mess Reading Series, was featured in the locally distributed (and FREE!) Buzzbin Magazine. Pick up a copy and stare into Nick Sturm's grinning mug.






Wednesday, June 29, 2011

A BIG BIG Sequel


Friends of BOR: It's already time for the second installment of Akron's, nay, Northeast Ohio's newest BIG reading series! Come out this Friday from 7-9 pm to Annabell's Bar + Lounge for another round of great readers, fun prizes, drinks, and irreverent behavior.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Night Owl Review in Brief


Last week I attended the Juniper Summer Writing Institute. I made some great friends, listened to Matthea Harvey talk about mermaids, Heather Christle talk to local water fowl, and nervously approached James Tate. Not only did I have an awesome week, but I came home to Ben Mirov's Vortexts, which just came out from Supermachine. Mirov is one of the exciting young voices in poetry right now and this new collection of poems proves it. His lines are so clean and they really move, let alone when he hits the high notes of performance in poems:

Lake is such a beautiful word.
I'd like to die with it inside me.

If you haven't picked up his work yet I highly suggest you do so now.

-Mike

Monday, June 20, 2011

The Saint Monica Library Project

Saint Monica isn't the patron saint of libraries, but libraries were a saving grace to Mary Biddinger. That's why she is donating four copies of SAINT MONICA to libraries in need, along with a lifetime subscription to Barn Owl Review for each library. Ideally, several of these libraries would be in rural areas, like the setting of the book.

To nominate a library in need, send links + a brief rationale (300 words or fewer) to mb at marybiddinger dot com by 7/5/11. The four libraries will be selected by Mary in consultation with the Barn Owl Review editors, and announced here and elsewhere.

Note: while the book does contain some adult themes, it's not "blasphemous" in a way that would be unwelcome at libraries. Please share this call for nominations, and support your local library whenever you can. Thanks!

Monday, June 13, 2011

Give Us Weapons: A Call for Discussion



Let's be honest, BOR editor Eric Morris and I really hate/do not hate each other. One time there was a donut on the sidewalk in downtown Akron and we broke into full sprints just to see who could pretend to want it more. This story may or may not be true, but hey, it could happen, I just feel it in my bones.

At The Big Big Mess reading last Friday, Eric and I were discussing what we were going to do with the BORBlog, when he suggested that we interview each other. After a few drinks and more talk (at least I remember it this way) we decided to do just that but to record it for all to see.

For this interview we are sending out a Call For Weapons. We are asking any and all who want to contribute to enlarging our discussion to send in their questions/topical material. We are looking to go beyond something egotistical, and get all of you involved in something a little bigger. So please, send us your questions about writing, poetry, Akron, Ohio, rain, tornados, hands--basically anything loosely (and I mean loosely) creative/destructive. We will select some your requests to include in our talk which will air at some point in the near future right here on BORBlog.

Send your "stuff" to us at: submit at barnowlreview.com (fill in the @ as needed, yo).

One last thing: PLEASE note that this IS NOT a call for poetry submissions. If that's your desire (which we hope it is) please check out our submissions page for details on how to submit entries for BOR 5.

-Mike

Monday, June 6, 2011

Here comes THE BIG BIG MESS reading series.

This is the next big, messy thing to happen in Akron, Ohio. We hope to see you on Friday, 6/10 at 7:00 pm at Annabell's Bar + Lounge, 782 West Market Street, Akron, OH.

Friday, March 25, 2011

Dzanc Workshop Day comes to Akron

Click to make the flyer larger, or check out full details here. Barn Owl Review editors Mary Biddinger and Eric Morris will be leading this workshop, all for the awesome cause of supporting Dzanc Books and its many programs for writers.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

BOR 4 goes to Washington.

The new issue is here, and I reckon it's the prettiest one yet. And perhaps the awesomest, too. Won't you stop by our table at AWP and get you some? Or order one from our pretty website?

For the AWP-goers, we will be at table A11 with the University of Akron Press. Please come say hello!

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Full exposure.

Order yourself a copy here.