Friday, November 30, 2012

Barn Owl Review Pushcart Prize Nominees, 2012



The editors of Barn Owl Review are pleased to announce the nominations for this year's Pushcart Prize competition. Very best wishes to our fine poets, and their poems!

Sarah Freligh, "Blissfield, Michigan: July 1969"
Corey Van Landingham, "Other Techniques for Elegant Boatsmanship"
Julie Platt, "Proof of Life"
Kate Jenkins, "Epistle"
Krystal Languell, "Frenemy"
Elena Tomorowitz, "The Variable of the Invariable"

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Welcome to Ohio, Steve Kistulentz!


Barn Owl Review contributor and Akron Series in Poetry author Steve Kistulentz will read from his new collection of poems, Little Black Daydream, on Wednesday, October 24th at 4:30 pm at Baldwin-Wallace University, Marting 114.

Get you some!

Monday, June 18, 2012

Barn Owl Review #5 at New Pages



Thanks to the folks at New Pages for this write-up of our current issue. Get your own copy here, and send us some poems here.

"BOR is a poetry magazine that stands out and stands alone. I’ve no doubt it will continue to do amazing and nontraditional things." --Lesley Dame, New Pages

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

This will be cool


See you there, pretty please?

In other news, we begin reading for Barn Owl Review #6 on Friday. Hooray!

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

When we are not busy reading your poems.

We're writing our own poems.

Check out poems by Barn Owl Review editors Mary Biddinger and Mike Krutel in the new, kickass issue of H_NGM_N.


Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Not to be missed

Come see BOR poet Marc McKee read with a kickass bunch of folks in Akron, OH.

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Post-Post-AWP

Some of you might just now be getting out of the AWP fog/detox and I can hardly blame you for the fun you've had. I about lost my mind on the way home as if I'd been struck with some form of postpartum depression. I love you all and I am already ready to see all of you again next year.

Even more exciting is that AWP brought an after party to Akron this past Monday night in the form of Zachary Schomburg and Rebecca Farivar. They are currently on the road for the Fjords Book Tour, promoting Zach's new book FJORDS VOL 1. Check out Zach's blog for more info and east coast tour dates if you haven't already.

Along with all the people I was lucky enough to see in the madness, and those I met for the first time, I picked up a decent roll of books at the bookfair and can't wait to read every single one of them. Since everyone else is starting to, here's a wrap up list of everything I bought and that you should probably read if you haven't already:

Forklift, Ohio Vinter (sic) 2012

Coeur de Lion – Ariana Reines (Fence Books)

My New Job – Catherine Wagner (Fence Books)

I Don’t Mind if You’re Feeling Alone – Thomas Patrick Levy (Yes Yes Books)

Partyknife – Dan Magers (Birds, LLC)

The Other Poems – Paul Legault (Fence Books)

I Live in a Hut – S.E. Smith (Cleveland State University Poetry Center)

Bat City Review #8 (and a #4 throw in!)

OHNO #2

Stories V! – Scott McClanahan (Holler Presents)

Say Poem – Adam Robinson (Awesome Machine Press)

No, Not Today – Jordan Stempleman (Magic Helicopter Press)

Gigantic Sequins #3.1

NOÖ #13 in print ladies and gentleman

A Beautiful Marsupial Afternoon – CA Conrad (Wave Books)

Sermons and Lectures – Matt Hart (special package edition!)

Big Lucks #4

Obedience – Chris Vitiello (Ahsahta Press)

Snowflake/Different Streets – Eileen Myles (Wave Books)

Artifice Magazine #3

Salt Hill #28

Four – Monica de la Torre (Switchback Books)

Sorry it’s so Small – Lauren Ireland (Factory Hollow Press)

31 Poems – Dean Young (Forklift, Ink.)

What a Tremendous Time We’re Having – Nick Sturm (iO Books)

Makeshift Instructions for Vigilant Girls – Erika Meitner (Anhinga Press)

Agricultural Reader #5

Monday, January 30, 2012

Guide to the Weekend

It's only Monday, but it's never too early to start thinking about the weekend, especially with the next installment of The Big Big Mess Reading Series coming Akron's way. To hoot our own horns, BOR 5 contributor Adam Clay will be reading poetry. Also featured will be poetry from Michael Dumanis, Krysia Orlowski, and John Estes, and prose from Alissa Nutting. Come out for another night of drinks, words, and prizes.

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Barn Owl Review in Brief: Matt Hart's Light-Headed

Friend of BOR and poetry Senior Hardcore Analyst Matt Hart has a book called Light-Headed. Coincidentally, I ordered this book and received it just days before the book made the list for Coldfront's Top 30 Poetry Books of 2011. The book is composed of mega-sonnets (with goodness between). The kind that can run ultra-marathons while memorizing all the most explosive words in the dictionary.

One of my favorite aspects of this book is how well Hart builds from the accumulation of recurring images. As he masterfully cycles back through images and phrases, each recurrence feels like it's new again, like I didn't just hear the word/phrase a few pages ago, but rather that I have known that phrase on my own for quite some time and am now seeing it new in a poem. It's that thing that poetry does, giving you something you think you know but never really knew, except that Hart makes that experience happen right here and now instead of it being a transference that comes from outside the context of the book. Delicious salad of (mis)understanding.

Thursday, January 26, 2012

The Full Monty

Ladies and gentlemen, we are now at the printer. Long live Barn Owl Review 5!